Notifications
Clear all

Poetry = Literature

Page 15 / 16

bunkymoo
(@bunkymoo)
Bookworm AP Lit 2021
Veteran

@carlatortelli I think victorian style poems were by far the hardest for me to understand because of the language. I agree that an era can say a lot about how much you enjoy and understand it. For me, I was never able to fully grasp and understand how these poems worked, just because they were worded in ways that really made me think.

ReplyQuote
Delphine
(@delphine)
Bookworm AP Lit 2021
Topics

@conster I definitely understand! I am a musician myself and am very interested in the complexities of music. As someone who usually focuses on lyrical music, I find myself getting so bored once I've solidified the lyrics that I tend to try and listen to all of those intricate and beautiful parts of the instrumental music. Lyrics combined with the right instrumentals are so so powerful, because you take two entirely different types of storytelling and allow them to come together. 

ReplyQuote
savhoisington
(@savhoisington)
Bookworm AP Lit 2021
Topics

@delphine I, personally, am not a musician, and I too appreciate music of course, but your post reminds me of Kafka on the Shore, Saeki's song, not the book as a whole. I remember Kafka contemplating how she found such a perfect melody to fit such unique words. And to me, I have always thought most songs were written to a fixed song, whether the melody wa already created or if it was still in the songwriter's imagination. But, it is kind of made a point that it wa poetry before it was music. I just wonder if by creating music as poetry first allows for a more unique outcome. Anyways, I spent a bit of time thinking about that, so just a thought!

ReplyQuote
abuzz
(@abuzz)
Bookworm AP Lit 2021
Topics