Clear all

The May Exam

Page 1 / 6

Persephone
(@persephone)
Bookworm AP Lit 2021
Topics
Topic starter  

Hey everyone! With the May exam coming up, I figured it could be helpful to start a thread about things that have helped or not helped us, and maybe even drop some resources to help our fellow classmates!

Starting off, while I first hated writing a bunch of impromptus, I now appreciate them immensely because I feel like I'm a much better writer now. Same goes for the MC practice quizzes, from the start of the year to now I think I went from a 10 point average to a 20 haha. I've also used Kahn Academy, but only a little bit, but it seems promising! What about you guys?

aplitstudent123
(@aplitstudent123)
Bookworm
Topics

I have found a lot of success with the impromptus too! I like that they are the exact way questions will be set up on the exam. For me personally, I like to hold myself to a similar time limit as the Exam so that I am comfortable with the pace and timing when it is test day. Then, once I have my draft written, I go back over it to see what I could have done better and I reword and edit some things. This process has really helped me because as I have done more and more impromptus, I have had to make less and less edits because I have learned from my past ones. 

ReplyQuote
octavia
(@octavia)
Bookworm AP Lit 2021
Topics

I for sure think the impromptus and the MC poetry practices helped out a lot. Though at first I disliked them, I think they helped me get into an AP mindset and really prepare. The more impromptus I have done, the more quick I am with my thinking and analysis when it comes to literature. Same with the MC practices - I am able to pick things out of a reading that I used to gloss over. Overall, analysis and picking out both details and the overall themes and aspects have both improved for me through these exercises. 

ReplyQuote
xwing37
(@xwing37)
Bookworm AP Lit 2021
Topics